Goodbye, Susan–you are my hero

As I drove through West Point on my way to a church retreat on Friday, Mandisa’s “Just Cry” began to play.

My first thought was of you.  I knew then that you had left us.  Yet I refused to acknowledge it.  I would have heard.

This morning as I watched the sunrise a strange peace filled the air, and I knew that you were experiencing your first Sunday with Jesus.  It brings tears to my eyes.  I have such mixed emotions.

I never saw you when you weren’t smiling.  I never spoke to you when you had a bad word to say about anyone.  You always found something positive about a situation and when you couldn’t, you chose prayer. When I was struggling, you were there to lend an ear and offer encouragement and prayer.

When I moved away, we lost touch but found each other on Facebook.  When I found out you were struggling, I found a way to repay you for all the times you were there for me.  My prayers reached out and touched the heavens.  I know because God showed me marvelous things He had in store for you.  Even though you had every right to be angry, discouraged and negative, you found a way to trust God through it all.  You are a hero to all of us who watched you, who prayed for you, who wanted for you what you were afraid to want for yourself.  Even though we had hoped God would save you for this world, He found it necessary to lead you into His kingdom.  Though we mourn our loss, we rejoice in your gain.  You now have the answer to the questions we all want answers to:  What is heaven like?  What is it like to have your tears wiped away by the One who created you?  What is your new home like?  Can you possibly contain your joy at meeting Jesus face to face?  What does true worship look like?

Earth is a little different now.  You truly made the world a better place.  I will never forget your brave spirit, your faithfulness, your love for others.  Thank you.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

