Change your focus to enhance your faith

Luke 24:13  That same day two of Jesus’ followers were walking to the village of Emmaus, seven miles[a] from Jerusalem.

The two followers missed the significance of the Resurrection because they were focusing on their disappointments and problems.  They were so distraught over their circumstances that they failed to recognize Jesus when He was walking beside them.  To make matters worse, they were going in the wrong direction–away from the fellowship of believers in Jerusalem.  When we are disappointed, do we seek out fellow Christians or do we seek comfort from the secular world?  We will miss Jesus, too, and withdraw from believers if we become preoccupied with our own problems and disappointments.  We will only experience Jesus’ power when we focus our eyes on Him rather than our circumstances.

My reading schedule this week:

November 19   Acts 9-10
November 20  Acts 11-12
November 21  Acts 13-14
November 22  James 1-5
November 23  Acts 15-16
November 24  Galatians 1-3
November 25  Galatians 4-6

NOTE:  I am following the Chronological Timeline from ewordtoday.com.  Bible Gateway has an online reading plan if you would rather have an online version.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Perspective and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

