Assess the cost or trust in God?

John 6:5-7 Jesus soon saw a huge crowd of people coming to look for him. Turning to Philip, he asked, “Where can we buy bread to feed all these people?”  He was testing Philip, for he already knew what he was going to do.Philip replied, “Even if we worked for months, we wouldn’t have enough money to feed them!”

When Jesus asked Philip to buy bread, Philip started assessing the cost.  Jesus was trying to teach Philip and the other disciples, as well as us, that financial resources aren’t the most important aspect of ministry.  When we assume what is possible or impossible, we limit God.  We don’t need to let our estimate of what can’t be done keep us from the task that God has given us to do.  God can do the miraculous regardless of our financial resources.

My reading schedule this week:

October 22  Matthew 18
October 23  John 7-8
October 24  John 9-10:21
October 25  Luke 10-11; John 10:22-42
October 26  Luke 12-13
October 27  Luke 14-15
October 28  Luke 16-17:10

NOTE:  I am following the Chronological Timeline from ewordtoday.com.  Bible Gateway has an online reading plan if you would rather have an online version.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Perspective and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

