What are you seeking?

Jeremiah 45:5 Are you seeking great things for yourself? Don’t do it! I will bring great disaster upon all these people; but I will give you your life as a reward wherever you go. I, the Lord, have spoken!’”

Baruch had served Jeremiah for a long time writing his book of struggles and judgment.  He became overwhelmed and upset.  God told Baruch to stop focusing on himself, his circumstances and the rewards he thought he deserved.  His obedience would bring God’s protection.

It is easy to lose our joy while serving God when we focus on ourselves and what we think we deserve.  The more we seek from God for our sacrifices instead of focusing on God’s purposes, the more frustrated we will become.  We should beware of focusing on what we are giving up or what we should be getting in return.  If you have been serving God for a reward, repent and redirect your focus on the privilege of serving the Lord.

My reading schedule this week:

August 27      Ezekiel 1-4
August 28      Ezekiel 5-8
August 29      Ezekiel 9-12
August 30      Ezekiel 13-15
August 31      Ezekiel 16-17
September 1  Ezekiel 18-19
September 2  Ezekiel 20-21 

NOTE:  I am following the Chronological Timeline from ewordtoday.com.  Bible Gateway has an online reading plan if you would rather have an online version.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

