Give credit where it’s due

2 Kings 20:15  “What did they see in your palace?” Isaiah asked.“They saw everything,” Hezekiah replied. “I showed them everything I own—all my royal treasuries.”

Hezekiah had been a good king.  He had been faithful to God.  When Isaiah asked him what the strangers saw when they visited him, Hezekiah said he had shown them “everything own–all my royal treasuries.”  Because he chose not to give credit to God for all of his blessings and instead, tried to impress the strangers, all of Judah would be punished.

We are not to use God’s blessings to impress others.  A testimony of victory can suddenly become vanity and self-congratulations.  Be careful and check your motives when you are talking about yourself–your talents, your possessions, your financial status.

My reading schedule this week:

August 6     Zephaniah
August 7     Jeremiah 1-3
August 8     Jeremiah 4-6
August 9     Jeremiah 7-9
August 10   Jeremiah 10-13
August 11    Jeremiah 14-17
August 12   Jeremiah 18-22

NOTE:  I am following the Chronological Timeline from ewordtoday.com

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Perspective and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

