Hard hearts, useless hearts

Psalm 95:8 The Lord says, “Don’t harden your hearts as Israel did at Meribah,
    as they did at Massah in the wilderness.

Our hearts become hardened when we continually resist God’s will.  It is difficult to encounter God when our hearts are hard.  A hardened heart is as useless as a hardened loaf of bead.  Nothing can restore its usefulness.  If we resist God long enough, He may toss us out like hardened bread.  It is important to be open to God’s leading and discipline.  We should seek to obey and serve God when He asks us to do something.

Psalm 95 lists 4 types of behavior that removes us from God’s blessing of rest:

1.  Having an ungrateful heart (95:2)
2.  Not worshiping or submitting to His will (95:6)
3.  Hardening our hearts (95:8)
4.  Trying His patience because of stubborn doubts (95:9)

We should reject these behaviors and anything else that leads us away from Him.

My reading schedule this week:

May 28   Psalm 111-118
May 29   1 Kings 1-2, Psalm 37, 71, 94
May 30   Psalm 119:1-88
May 31   1 Kings 3-4, 2 Chronicles 1, Psalm 72
June 1     Psalm 119:89-176
June 2     Song of Solomon 1-8
June 3     Proverbs 1-3

NOTE:  I am following the Chronological Timeline from ewordtoday.com

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Perspective and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

