Don’t be a fleece layer

Judges 6:37-39 prove it to me in this way. I will put a wool fleece on the threshing floor tonight. If the fleece is wet with dew in the morning but the ground is dry, then I will know that you are going to help me rescue Israel as you promised.”  And that is just what happened. When Gideon got up early the next morning, he squeezed the fleece and wrung out a whole bowlful of water.  Then Gideon said to God, “Please don’t be angry with me, but let me make one more request. Let me use the fleece for one more test. This time let the fleece remain dry while the ground around it is wet with dew.”

Gideon was one of many judges God called to lead Israel out of trouble.  In a previous passage, God had called Gideon to save the Israelites from the Midianites.  Gideon had already asked for one sign (see Judges 6:17-21) and God answered by causing miraculous fire from a rock, so when he asked for not one but two more signs from God, Gideon knew he might displease God.

Demanding extra proof is a sign of disbelief.  We do need all the facts before making wise decisions; however, Gideon had all the information he needed and still wanted more proof.  Before we criticize Gideon, consider how many times we test God’s Word.  “Putting our fleeces” puts limitations on God, demands that He fit our expectations and doesn’t make us any more confident.  For answers and guidance, we should be studying God’s Word rather than asking for signs.  A fleece is a poor substitute for God’s Word.

My reading schedule this week:

April 2   Judges 8-9
April 3   Judges 10-12
April 4   Judges 13-15
April 5   Judges 16-18
April 6   Judges 19-21
April 7   Ruth
April 8   1 Samuel 1-3

NOTE:  I am following the Chronological Timeline from ewordtoday.com

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Perspective and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

