Don’t let go. Wait for the blessing.

Genesis 32:26 Then the man said, “Let me go for the dawn is breaking!” But Jacob said, “I will not let you go unless you bless me.”

Genesis 47:3-4 “I am God, the God of your father,” the voice said. “Do not be afraid to go down to Egypt, for there I will make your family into a great nation.  I will go with you down to your family into a great nation.  I will go with you down to Egypt, and I will bring you back again.  You will die in Egypt, but Joseph will be with you to close your eyes.”

Jacob lived an eventful life.  Some of what happened to him was brought on by his own actions.  His name meant deceit, and he lived up to his name.  In turn, he was also deceived.  First, by his father-in-law, Laban, and then by his children, who convinced him that Joseph was dead.  But through it all, God blessed him and his family.  Jacob was persistent.  In Genesis 32, when he struggled with the man, he demanded a blessing before he would let him go.

After the death of Joseph, the Israelites were forced into hard labor.  Egypt became a place of trials and testing of faith and, in some cases, a haven for the baby Jesus.  Eventually, they were taken to the promised land.  Sometimes when God wants to bless us, He first leads us to Egypt, a place where our faith can be tried and tested.  God’s desire is not to see us fail.  His goal is to demonstrate to us what His power can do through our faith.  What difference would our lives make if God blessed us in the promised land without leading us through the desert?  Would we not take Him for granted?  Would we be grateful?

In our lives, God will take us to strange and faraway “lands”, but He has promised to go with us.  Don’t let go of God’s promise until you receive His blessing.  In other words, don’t give up on God too soon.

The following is taken from Sarah Young’s “Jesus Calling”:

January 28– “I AM WITH YOU ALWAYS. These were the last words I spoke before ascending into heaven.  I continue to proclaim this promise to all who will listen.  People respond to My continual Presence in various ways.  Most Christians accept this teaching as truth but ignore it in their daily living.  Some ill-taught or wounded believers fear (and may even resent) My awareness of all they do, say, and think.  A few people center their lives around this glorious promise and find themselves blessed beyond all expectations.

“When My Presence is the focal point of your consciousness, all the pieces of your life fall into place.  As you gaze at Me through the eyes of your heart, you can see the world around you from My perspective.  The fact that I am with you makes every moment of your life meaningful.”

My reading schedule for this week:

January 29    Genesis 48-50

January 30    Exodus 1-3

January 31     Exodus 4-6

February 1    Exodus 7-9

February 2    Exodus 10-12

February 3    Exodus 13-15

February 4    Exodus 16-18

NOTE:  I am following the Chronological Timeline from ewordtoday.com

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Perspective. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

