Where is our hope when we question God?

Job 23:10 “But he knows where I am going.  And when he tests me, I will come out as pure gold.”

Job was a man tested and tried.  His story is a test for us.  Job, like us, did not know how his story would end.  He did not know that his true enemy, Satan, had caused his suffering.  He only felt pain and sorrow and questioned his existence and God’s decisions.

Even though Job’s friends believed Job’s sin was to blame, Job knew he was not to blame.  He didn’t claim to be sinless, but he knew his heart and so did God.  Job’s friends were only looking at outward actions.  Their theology claimed that good things happened to good people and bad things happened to bad people.  They could not fathom a God who allowed good people to suffer, and neither can we.  We all know people who endure pain and suffering who are good people just as we also know “bad” people who seem to live the good life.

The way we respond to our own suffering demonstrates our attitude toward God.  No matter what our circumstances, we should trust God.  God is in control.  We must submit to His plan so that we don’t harbor resentment.  We can’t know or understand everything about God.   What we do know or understand can only be learned through a personal relationship with Him.  He is greater than anything the world has to offer.

My hope is in the Lord.  Where is yours?  In your job?  your money? your spouse? your children?  Depending on anything other than God is idolatry.  Our greatest test is trusting God’s goodness when our lives aren’t going the way we planned.  We should place our hope in the Lord rather than the goodness of life.

My reading schedule for the first week:

January 15 Job 40-42

January 16 Genesis 12-15

January 17 Genesis 16-18

January 18 Genesis 19-21

January 19 Genesis 22-24

January 20 Genesis 25-26

January 21 Genesis 27-29

 

NOTE:  I am following the Chronological Timeline from ewordtoday.com

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Perspective and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

