Journey through 2014–Seeing Things from God’s Perspective

Scripture:  Genesis 6:9 – 8:22; 2 Thessalonians 2:7-12

Genesis 6:11-13
11 Now the earth had become corrupt in God’s sight, and it was filled with violence. 12 God observed all this corruption in the world, and he saw violence and depravity everywhere. 13 So God said to Noah, “I have decided to destroy all living creatures, for the earth is filled with violence because of them. Yes, I will wipe them all from the face of the earth!

2 Thessalonians 2:10-12
10 He will use every kind of wicked deception to fool those who are on their way to destruction because they refuse to believe the truth that would save them. 11 So God will send great deception upon them, and they will believe all these lies. 12 Then they will be condemned for not believing the truth and for enjoying the evil they do.

You read those verses and thought, “What a way to start off the New Year.  What positive thing could she derive from the threat of destruction?”  Read on. Please.

My life word for 2014 is “Perspective”, in particular, God’s perspective.  According to the World English Dictionary, Perspective is a noun meaning  “a way of regarding situations, facts, etc., and judging their relative importance” and “the proper or accurate point of view or the ability to see it”.  By seeing things from God’s perspective, I will regard my circumstances properly with an accurate point of view instead of seeing things from a limited human standpoint.

On January 2, I will transition from working for an attorney in private practice to working for the same attorney in a different environment.  Since it has been awhile since I’ve worked in this type of atmosphere, I am apprehensive about the change and how it will affect me.  But God made me a promise several years ago that I would receive a blessing.  Each time a blessing would come my way, I would ask God if that was the blessing I was expecting, and each time, He said, “Not yet.”  When the decisions were being made about my job, I didn’t have to ask God. He told me. “This is it. The big blessing I’ve been promising and you’ve been praying for.” Only I wasn’t jumping up and down and praising God.  Instead, I was thinking “God, You are kidding, right?  This can’t be it, Lord. There has to be some other way.”

After reading the story of Noah, I am beginning to see the importance of seeing things from God’s perspective.  Noah could have said, “Lord, You’ve got to be kidding. You want me to build a what?  You are going to do what?  Isn’t there another way?” But Noah obediently began building an Ark to provide shelter and safety from the flood God was bringing to destroy the Earth He had created with His own breath because the world had become too violent and depraved.  So, in 2014, my desire is to see things from God’s perspective in order to change the way I look at life, at myself, at others and the world.  This will involve digging deeper into God’s Word, looking at all the angles, believing and trusting God first and reacting later.  I am sure in my limited vision I cannot see what God can see in terms of His plan for my life.

I’m looking forward to 2014.  This year I have so much to trust God for and believe Him about.  My life has always been a testimony of God’s faithfulness and goodness.  2014 will prove that God has never given up on me even when I was barely clinging to my faith and trust in Him.  I will be blogging weekly about my journey .  I will be reading through the Bible chronologically using The Chronological Life Application Study Bible (NLT).  Won’t you join me?

My reading schedule for the first week:

January 1  Genesis 1-3
January 2  Genesis 4-7
January 3  Genesis 8-11
January 4  Job 1-5
January 5  Job 6-9
January 6  Job 10-13
January 7  Job 14-16

NOTE:  I am following the Chronological Timeline from ewordtoday.com rather than the order in The Chronological Life Application Study Bible.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

