Dare to Choose Contentment In Your Relationships (December 19, 2013)

Philippians 4:19 And my god will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.

We live with either content or discontent.  Whichever attitude we choose determines how we treat others.  If we are content, we have the freedom to love and care for others; however, if we are discontent, we are critical, overbearing and, often, judgmental in how we treat other people.

Discontentment comes when we don’t release the hurt we experience in our lives or when we don’t forgive others for the hurt they caused us.  It comes when we envy others for their circumstances in life and would rather trade what God has given us for what He has given them.

The solution to finding contentment in our lives is to trust God to meet our needs and to know that He has given us every perfect gift and that we are to share our gifts with those around us.

“I trust Jesus to do in me what I cannot do for myself.  The key is our focus when things happen.  Our focus in life has a huge impact on our relationships with other people.  In fact, it might be more important than anything a person does or says to us.”¹

Today, dare to live in contentment and trust God to provide for our needs.

[Read Luke 9-16]

Luke 10:41-42 But the Lord said to her, “My dear Martha, you are worried and upset over all these details!  There is only one thing worth being concerned about.  Mary has discovered it, and it will not be taken away from her.”

Father God,
You are perfect and trustworthy.  I put my faith and trust in You for You give good gifts even when they are wrapped in the disguise of disappointment.  Thank You for supplying my every need. Amen.

¹Debbie Alsdorf The Faith Dare” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Revel, a division of Baker Publishing Group, 2010) p. 218

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in The Faith Dare and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

