Dare to Live Unselfishly (December 18, 2013)

Hebrews 3:13 But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called Today, so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness.

Have you ever felt that living the Christian life would be easier if you could be by yourself and not have to deal with other people?  Because we can have all the right feelings, do the right things and think good thoughts when other people aren’t around?  Are you laughing yet?  Like it or not, sometimes we are our own “other people”.

God created us for relationship not only with Him but those around us.  After all, without other people we wouldn’t live through the first year.  When we are tempted to isolate ourselves from others, we need to draw closer to God.  It is in relationship where we grow spiritually.  We can’t grow without rubbing up against people who try our patience, who hurt us and teach us how to be forgiving, or who move us to compassion and teach us how to love.  Isolation from others only leads to self-centeredness and pride.

“I live in a world with people, and so do you.  People who rub us the wrong way, hurt us, push every last button.  You know what I’m talking about…real life, real relationships, real people.  We do need a real God and the power of His love.”¹

Today, dare to treat others the way you would like to be treated.

[Read Luke 1-8]

Luke 6:35-36 “Love your enemies! Do good to them, lend to them without expecting to be repaid.  Then your reward from heaven will be very great, and you will truly be acting as children of the Most High, for he is kind to those who are unthankful and wicket.  You must be compassionate, just as your Father is compassionate.”

Father God,
I cannot live in a world without people nor can I love without Your love in me.  I desire to follow You. Help me learn to be obedient in a world filled with imperfect people.  Enable me to love them as You do. Amen.

¹Debbie Alsdorf The Faith Dare” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Revel, a division of Baker Publishing Group, 2010) p.211

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in The Faith Dare and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

