Dare to Walk in Humility and Grace Toward Others (December 16, 2013)

1 Peter 5:5-7 Clothe yourselves with humility toward one another, because, “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.”  Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time.  Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

If we are truly interested in honoring God, then we will humble ourselves and put others first even when they don’t deserve it or we don’t “feel” like it.  This is one of those things that we do when we follow the narrow path God set out for us.  It is easy to talk about but difficult to put into practice.  The world has a me first attitude, but that is not how Believers are to live.  We are selfish by human nature, but God has asked us to transform our actions to be more like Christ than the world.

Humility does not mean lying down on the ground while everyone walks over you.  Humility is a life submitted to God.  Humility is saying to our Father, ‘You are God and I am not.’ Walking in humility toward others is not that difficult to understand; it is simply putting them first.”¹

Today, let us dare to put the needs of others ahead of our own and actively look for others’ needs instead of focusing on ourselves.

[Read Mark 1-8]

Mark 1:7-8 John announced, “Someone is coming soon who is greater than I am–so much greater that I’m not even worthy to stoop down like a slave and untie the straps of his sandals.  I baptize you with water, but he will baptize you with the Holy Spirit!”

Father God,
Show me how to walk in humility.  Help me focus more on the needs of those around me.  If possible, help me meet those needs with humility and compassion. Amen.

¹Debbie Alsdorf The Faith Dare” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Revel, a division of Baker Publishing Group, 2010) p. 202

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in The Faith Dare and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

