Dare to Allow Your Heart to Connect and Your Mind to Engage With Others (December 12, 2013)

Psalm 133:1 How good and pleasant it is when brothers live together in unity!

 

Everyone’s busy.  Work, keeping up with household chores and maintenance, school activities, after-school activities, church, hobbies–who has time for a social life let alone spending time connecting with other people?  When Jesus came to Earth, He knew from the very beginning His life would be short and the time that He had to do God’s will while here on Earth would need to be well-spent.  Even though he was actively doing something, Jesus always put people first even when they encroached upon His “me time”.  He never turned anyone away.  He listened.  He loved them.  He showed them they had value.  We are called to do the same–give people the proper value–and that includes the members of our own family.

I am very task-oriented.  I get focused on what I’m doing, and I just want to finish without interruptions.  When I get interrupted, I get frustrated and it shows.  I need to learn how to focus on the needs of others rather than what I’m doing.  Most of the time doing can wait.  If we push people away or put them off, we may lose the opportunity to be the light God has called us to be.  If we love the Lord, we will love and value His people.

“Honoring the value of people is a choice we make when we dare to live the Jesus style of life.  He loved people, walked with them, ate with them, processed with them, directed them, cried with them, healed them, gave to them, and forgave them.”¹

Today, let us dare to make people a priority.  Watch for the needs of others around us and try to meet those needs.

 

[Read Matthew 15-21]

Matthew 15:32 Then Jesus called his disciples and told them, “I feel sorry for these people. They have been with me for three days and they have nothing left to eat.  I don’t want to send them away hungry, or they will faint along the way.”

Father God,
I don’t want to live a self-absorbed life.  Teach me how to love others in a way that brings value to them and honors You.  Lead me into godly relationships and friends who are a part of Your plan for my life. Amen.

¹Debbie Alsdorf The Faith Dare” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Revel, a division of Baker Publishing Group, 2010) p. 191

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in The Faith Dare and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

