Dare to Get Our Head Out from Under the Circumstances (December 5, 2013)

John 16:33 [Jesus said,] “In this world you will have trouble.  But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

When we hit a difficult time in our life, it is easy to live under our circumstances bearing the weight of pain, sorrow, disappointment, and discouragement.  We can drag others under with us because misery loves company.  We can even convince ourselves it is our right to feel this way considering our circumstances.  Instead of living under our circumstances, we need to move through it.  We need to fix our eyes on Jesus and allow Him to work out His plan in our lives.

“God gives us many opportunities to practice walking out our faith and establishing our beliefs through our circumstances.  Today is another opportunity for you and for me.  I choose today to be positive, to walk in the faith that God knows me and loves me and that I am in His hand.”¹

Today, let us find something positive to think about that will overcome the negative and not focus on our circumstances.

[Read Revelation 6-10]

Revelation 7:10 And they were shouting with a great roar, “Salvation comes from our God who sits on the throne and from the Lamb!”

Father God,
It is easy to sit under my problems and allow them to rule my thoughts.  Help me in my unbelief and teach me to be an overcomer in You. Amen.

¹Debbie Alsdorf The Faith Dare” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Revel, a division of Baker Publishing Group, 2010) p. 161

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in The Faith Dare and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

