Dare to Live with a New Focus (December 4, 2013)

Colossians 3:15 Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts.

Isn’t it interesting how just one irritating thing can start the unraveling process and, before long, unfortunate circumstances stack up and we lose our focus.  We start out with our focus on God, but within a short time we start focusing on ourselves–poor, poor, pitiful me.  Look at what’s happening to me.  Not only are we focusing on ourselves, but we are also encouraging others to look at us begging them to direct their attention to us.

When we stop focusing on Jesus, our mood changes.  We are filled with anxiety, fear and worry and suddenly become discouraged and/or depressed.  It’s a pitiful sight.  The only way to overcome this emotional roller coaster is to fix our eyes on Jesus no matter what.  He will give us a healthy outlook on our circumstances.

“I think we can all agree that our eyes, our focus, our attention are often in need of repair.  We scatter our focus every which way, and when we need to focus on Jesus and His faithfulness, we get distracted.  We need to learn to fix our eyes on Jesus.”¹

Today, we dare not to lose hope and redirect our focus on Jesus and face the day with His strength.

[Revelation 1-5]

Revelation 1:8 “I am the Alpha and Omega–the beginning and the end,” says the Lord God. “I am the one who is, who always was, and who is still to come–the Almighty One.

Father God,
When my circumstances bring me down, remind me to look at You.  Help me readjust my eyes to look upon You.  Help me recognize when my vision is slipping and correct it before my mood gets out of hand. Amen.

¹Debbie Alsdorf The Faith Dare” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Revel, a division of Baker Publishing Group, 2010) pp. 155-156.

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in The Faith Dare and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

