Dare to Choose Whom You Will Serve and the Direction You Take (December 2, 2013)

James 1:2 Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.

1 Thessalonians 5:16 Be joyful always; pray continually.

It is easy to choose God when life is simple and things are going well.  It’s easy to trust Him when the bills are paid, our job is going well and everything is going our way.  But what about when we lose our job, the car dies, the kids are sick and the bills are due and money is low?  These are the times when trusting God is hard and choosing God’s way is difficult.  We may not see what God is doing, but He is always working on our behalf.  We need to look for the lesson and the joy in all of our circumstances.  It is important to decide, in advance, whom we will serve and how we will react in the difficult times.  If we don’t, we may fall back on our human nature and whine, complain and blame God.

“What is your pain today? Can you turn it around from being just a life circumstance that is horrible to a life event that God has allowed for your good and growth?  If growth is the outcome, can you begin to hope for something better than you currently have?  Can you place yourself, your pain, and your circumstance into the hands of the God who calls you His daughter?”¹

Today, we should dare to believe that our circumstances, good or bad, will work out for the good in our life and dare to experience joy in all circumstances and pray continually no matter what.

[Read 1 John, 2 John, 3 John]

1 John 5:19 We know that we are children of God and that the world around us is under the control of the evil one.

Father God,
I am weak, but You are strong.  Help me focus my eyes on You rather than my circumstances.  Give me grace to endure whatever it takes to conform me to the image of Christ. Amen.

¹Debbie Alsdorf The Faith Dare” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Revel, a division of Baker Publishing Group, 2010) p. 144

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in The Faith Dare and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

