Dare to Believe You Were Not Created to be Enough in Yourself (November 28, 2013)

2 Corinthians 3:5 It is not that we think we are qualified to do anything on our own.  Our qualification comes from God.

“Not enough” is a phrase I hear often in my head.  A voice is quietly whispering “not enough” when I want to make people in my life happy, or please God, or even myself.  I am not doing enough for others or not good enough to be who God created me to be.  Sometimes it’s enough to make me want to give up.  But God’s Word tells us it is impossible to do what we are called to do without Him.  We want to be independent–doing things on our own.  We don’t like asking for help particularly from God because we want to impress Him with our abilities.  How awkward trying to impress the One who gave us our abilities.

“Chronic insecurities keep us at arm’s distance from others, and believe it or not, they can keep us at a distance from God. It’s not God who moves us.  We distance ourselves without realizing it, believing we will never be enough anyway.  Some women quit trying, quit daring to be all that God has planned for them to be.”¹

“…it was never God’s plan for me to be enough within myself.  He would be enough in me, for all things, at all times.  His Spirit, which is powerful within me, would change me, transforming me from a woman of self-focus and insecurity to a woman of God-focus and confidence.”²

Today, dare to view yourself differently.  Refuse negative thoughts and self-talk about yourself.

[Read 1 Peter 1-5]

1 Peter 4:2 You won’t spend the rest of your lives chasing your own desires, but you will be anxious to do the will of God.

Father God,
I always think I am not good enough, not doing enough or just not enough.  Help me see that I can do all You have called me to do if I turn to You for help.  Enable me to be who You have created me to be and always ask for Your help.  I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.  Amen.

¹Debbie Alsdorf The Faith Dare” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Revel, a division of Baker Publishing Group, 2010) p. 130

²Debbie Alsdorf The Faith Dare” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Revel, a division of Baker Publishing Group, 2010) p. 131

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in The Faith Dare and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

