Dare to Surrender to the Process of Change (November 27, 2013)

Galatians 2:20 I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me.  The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

God loves us so much that He refuses to leave us the way we are–struggling in our humanity.  He asks us to surrender to His will, His timing, His ways.  He wants us to become like His Son, but without His help and our surrender, this is impossible.  Sometimes change comes only through the difficult, trying times of life.  We have to rub against an irritant day after day until we are transformed into God’s pearl.  Often, we live in this process of change for a long time, but the results and rewards are worth it.

“We are changed daily in small steps and in unseen ways.  This daily change happens through the surrender of our will to God.  God is not destroying our will but rather transforming it as He changes us into all He has planned us to be.”¹

Dare to focus only on Jesus who wants to be your everything.  Dare to run your race not anyone else’s.

[Read James 1-5]

James 1:21-22 So get rid of all the filth and evil in your lives, and humbly accept the word God has planted in your hearts, for it has the power to save your souls.  But don’t just listen to God’s Word.  You must do what it says.  Otherwise, you are only fooling yourselves.

Father God,
Teach me to focus on Christ and make Him my everything.  Thank You for restoring what is lost and broken in my life.  Thank You for using my brokenness to make me better.  You are an amazing God. Amen.

¹Debbie Alsdorf The Faith Dare” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Revel, a division of Baker Publishing Group, 2010) p. 125

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in The Faith Dare and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

