Dare to Live No Longer for Self (November 25, 2013)

Galatians 2:20 I no longer live, but Christ lives in me.  The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

The world and our human nature tell us to live for ourselves.  We are told to make ourselves happy and the world will be perfect.  But the truth is no matter what we do, the world will never be perfect and living only for ourselves will not make us  truly happy.  We may have a sort of artificial joy, but we will experience an emptiness in our soul.

It takes faith to reject the world’s way of thinking and be God-centered.  It’s a risk to live for God because we don’t know what He will ask us to do; however, the reward of obedience is so much better than the in-the-moment happiness we experience when we do only what we want to do.

What if we laid ourselves aside?  What if we believed, really believed, that God’s love is powerful enough to protect us, keep us, and guide us into everything we will ever need in our lifetime?  What if, because of this love, we began to live differently than anything we ever imagined?”¹

Today, dare to trust God by asking Him how He wants you to live.  Ask God to show you the abundant life that is available to you when you strip off the desires of self and put on the desires of God.

[Read Hebrews 1-7]

Hebrews 6:10-11 For God is not unjust.  He will not forget how hard you have worked for him and how you have shown your love to him by caring for other believers, as you still do.  Our great desire is that you will keep on loving others as long as life lasts, in order to make certain that what you hope for will come true.

Father God,
Thank You for being who You are and for giving me a choice of how to live.  Help me choose living for You over living for self and the world’s desires.  Remind me to seek guidance from Your Word rather than the world.  Allow me to experience the true joy of serving You rather than the artificial joy of serving myself. Amen.

¹Debbie Alsdorf The Faith Dare” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Revel, a division of Baker Publishing Group, 2010) p. 112

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in The Faith Dare and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

