Dare to Remember that God gives Good Gifts to His Children (November 21, 2013)

Jeremiah 33:3 Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.

This is the time of year when we start Christmas shopping and trying to find the perfect gifts for the special people in our lives.  Sometimes it’s easy picking out a gift, but other times, especially for those who have everything, it’s more difficult to find that perfect gift–the one they won’t return.  But God knows what we need before we ask Him.  He already has a plan.  Sometimes it comes in the form we ask for it.  Other times it comes in a different shape and size, but because He is God, what He gives us is often better and more perfect than what we asked for in the first place.

“God gives good gifts.  God gives bread not a stone.  Your prayers will be answered from on high because your good God has heard every one.  The doors knocked on will be opened, but only when it’s safe to open them and only when it’s time for you to receive what is behind the door.  God is good.  Claim it, stand in it, thank Him for it.  Rejoice today that you have a God who loves you more than anyone could ever love you.”¹

[Read Acts 15-21]

Acts 17:24-25 “He is the God who made the world and everything in it.  Since he is Lord of heaven and earth, he doesn’t live in man-made temples, and human hands can’t serve his needs–for he has no needs.  He himself gives life and breath to everything, and he satisfies every need.”

Father God,
Help me when I am disappointed.  Help my unbelief.  Thank You for Your answers in Your timing rather than my own.  I trust that the right doors will be open at the right time.  I trust in Your sovereignty and Your control of my circumstances. Amen.

¹Debbie Alsdorf The Faith Dare” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Revel, a division of Baker Publishing Group, 2010) p. 98

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in The Faith Dare and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

