Dare to Believe in God’s Power In All Circumstances (November 19, 2013)

Romans 1:20 For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities–his eternal power and divine nature–have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse.

Before electricity, people used fire to cook and heat and candles and lanterns to illuminate rooms.  Electricity offers more convenient and powerful methods of cooking, doing laundry, practicing good personal hygiene as well as providing entertainment and lighting up a room.  It is a luxury we often take for granted.  The difference between God’s power and ours is a lot like the difference between electricity and fire.  Electricity when properly taken advantage of can do great things–illuminate, provide necessities of living, bring happiness through entertainment and comfort.  Fire can do some of those things but has a tendency to go  out and must be constantly maintained to be effective.  In order to be effective, we must rely on God’s power rather than our own.  Instead of taking it for granted, we need to draw on it, praise God for it and use it as directed by the Holy Spirit.

“Dare to walk in the truth of being appointed by God in your everyday, average, ordinary life.  We do this by listening for His gentle nudges throughout the day.  Acknowledge before Him that you are His and as such want to hear from Him…”¹

[Read Acts 1-7]

Acts 2:2-3 Suddenly, there was a sound from heaven like the roaring of a mighty windstorm, and it filled the house where they were sitting.  Then, what looked like flames or tongues of fire appeared and settled on each of them.

Father God,
Thank You that You did not leave me powerless in this world.  Thank you for giving me Your Spirit and putting Your power in me.  Help me to remember that Your power lives in me so that I can draw from it as needed.  Remind me to live as an overcomer.  Enable me to take faith risks each day–loving, forgiving, doing the right thing, sharing the gospel, making a stand.  Amen.

¹Debbie Alsdorf The Faith Dare” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Revel, a division of Baker Publishing Group, 2010) p.88

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in The Faith Dare and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

