Dare to Believe You Are No Longer of This World (November 15, 2013)

John 18:36 Jesus said, “My kingdom is not of this world.”

The world says…
“Be independent. Do it yourself.”

God says…
“Depend on Me for I am your strength.”

The world says…
“You can have it all.”

God says…
“The only think you need is Me.”

The world says…
“It’s all about you–your feelings, your beliefs, your success.”

God says…
“It’s all about Me.  Surrender to My will and blessings will follow.  Maybe not what the world calls a blessing, but soon you will see if you pay attention to the big picture.”

The world lies.  It wants to make us feel good.  It doesn’t care about where we spend eternity.  It only wants us to be concerned with the here and now.  God calls us to the truth.  He calls us to surrender.  He calls us to die daily to self.  He calls us to look at the bigger picture of eternity.  He wants to us to spend eternity with Him beginning now.

“Worship? Yes, according to Scripture, a spiritual act of worship is a surrender of our self, our real self, body, soul and spirit, to the God who made us.  This includes how we treat our physical body, the lifestyle we choose to live, the things that we allow access to our heart, and the very practical place of our mind.”¹

[Read Zechariah 8-14]

Zechariah 8:6 “This is what the Lord of Heavens Armies says:  All this may seem impossible to you now, a small remnant of God’s people.  But is it impossible for me? says the Lord of Heaven’s Armies.

Father God,
I am not my own.  I belong to You.  I am not to be ruled by self but by You who made me for Your purposes.  Conform me to the image of Jesus and Your plan for my life.  Amen.

¹Debbie Alsdorf The Faith Dare” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Revel, a division of Baker Publishing Group, 2010) p. 76

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in The Faith Dare and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

