Dare to Live Like You Belong to God (November 14, 2013)

Acts 17:28 “For in him we live and move and have our being.” As some of your own poets have said, “We are his offspring.”

When we invite Jesus into our heart, we become a new creation.  We belong to the body of Christ.  We are God’s people.  We belong to Him.  That truth may take some time to sink in, but once we know who we belong to, we should act accordingly.  We should not confess our allegiance to God and live like we belong to the world.  In 1 Corinthians 6, we are told that our body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, and we are called to honor God with our body.

“When you became a Christian, you become completely and totally His–body, soul, and spirit.  And as His you are now a temple of the Living God.  There is a different life to be lived.”¹

[Read Zechariah 1-7]

Zechariah 2:5 “Then I, myself, will be a protective wall of fire around Jerusalem, says the Lord. And I will be the glory inside the city!”

Father God,
I struggle with my “new” life in You as I go back and forth between You and the world.  Help me stay connected to the truth.  Plant the truth of who I am in You in my heart.  Remind me constantly that I belong to You. Amen.

¹Debbie Alsdorf The Faith Dare” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Revel, a division of Baker Publishing Group, 2010) p. 68

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in The Faith Dare and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

