Dare to Live Like You are Loved (November 13, 2013)

Jeremiah 31:3-4 I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with lovingkindness. I will build you up again and you will be rebuilt.

There are many things God will NEVER tell you.  He will never say “I don’t love you.” Or, “I used to love you when…” Or, even, “I love you, but…”  He does say, “I love you, my child, for you are mine. My love does not depend on what you do or even what you don’t do.  It is based entirely on the fact that I am your Heavenly Father and you are my beloved child.” That feels good to hear, doesn’t it?

But we tend to hear the negative comments of others and take them to heart–the criticism, the name calling–we don’t always comprehend the effect our words have on someone else.  Sometimes we take our “all in good fun” teasing to a level where the consequences are shameful.

Today, we are dared to accept God’s truth about ourselves and live up to what He calls us–His child.  We are also dared to watch what we readily call others.  Don’t call them anything that is contrary to God’s view of them.

“When we live as one who is loved, we live differently.  Life is no longer a set of unfortunate circumstances but instead a journey with the Father.  When we live as one who is loved, we have a changed viewpoint.  Our focus is the bigger picture of God’s unseen plan. When we live as one who is loved, we can walk in faith, believing in something we cannot see but dare to hope for.  This faith pleases God.”¹

[Read Haggai 1-2]

Haggai 2:23 But when this happens, says the Lord of Heaven’s Armies, I will honor you, Zerubbabel son of Shealtiel, my servant.  I will make you like a signet ring on my finger, says the Lord, for I have chosen you.  I, the Lord of Heaven’s Armies, have spoken.

Father God,
Thank You for loving me unconditionally.  Help me to live as who I am–Your child–not who people say that I am.  Help me lay down my insecurity and love others the way that You love me. Amen.

¹Debbie Alsdorf The Faith Dare” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Revel, a division of Baker Publishing Group, 2010) p. 62

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in The Faith Dare and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

