Dare to Pay Attention to God’s Lead (November 12, 2013)

John 8:12 Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.

Today may be just like any other day.  We get ready for the day.  We plan our to do list, and we implement our plan.  But have we included Christ in our plans?  Have we left room in our schedule for those unexpected moments when Christ leads us away from our plans?  Are we willing to turn loose of our plans to follow His path when He asks?

When Jesus called the disciples, they were all following their plan for the day.  Some were working while others were  hanging out under a tree or doing other tasks.  Every day Jesus gives us an opportunity to come and follow Him.  When He asks today, will we stop what we are doing and just obey?

“What changes?  He makes us different.  He gives us a new heart, and then calls us to follow after His ways.  That is the wonder of the miracle of Christ in our midst.  He is a life changer, a people mover, a restorer of all things.  Some call Him the difference maker.  This difference at work in us is the work of regeneration and restoration.  Jesus changes lives.  Period.  He doesn’t do it by force.  We have a choice each day; we have to come and follow.  He is the miracle worker, but we must daily come.”¹

[Read Zephaniah 1-3]

Zephaniah 3:17 “For the Lord your God is living among you. He is a mighty savior. He will take delight in you with gladness. With his love, he will calm all your fears.  He will rejoice over you with joyful songs.”

Father God,
Sometimes I don’t understand where You are leading me or what You want me to do.  I am sometimes tempted to continue on my own way.  I want to experience You in great measure like Peter did when You told him to cast out his net even though the prospects were dim.  I want to lay down my safety net and follow You Your way rather than mine. Amen.

¹Debbie Alsdorf The Faith Dare” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Revel, a division of Baker Publishing Group, 2010) p. 55

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in The Faith Dare and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

