Dare to ask God for a new heart (November 11, 2013)

2 Chronicles 16:9 For the eyes of the Lord run to and fro throughout the whole earth, to show himself strong on behalf of those whose heart is loyal to him.

The heart is the center of who we are.  If it is a divided heart, we will live in conflict and never become the person God intended us to be.  God can give us a new heart–one that is focused on Him and centered on His will.  We can keep our new heart beating strong by surrendering ourselves to the Father every day.  In order for our new heart to be accepted, we must be focused on God, be obedient and willing to let go of feelings and thoughts and areas of our heart that are blocked from God.

“Unless we allow God to cut us open, search the deep things of our heart, try us, know our thoughts, and then change us from the inside out, we will stay the same.  This movement toward surrendering our heart to God is intentional–done on purpose and with an aim in mind.”¹

[Read Habakkuk 1-3]

Habakkuk 2:4 “Look at the proud! They trust in themselves, and their lives are crooked.  But the righteous will live by their faithfulness to God.”

Father God,
I know there are areas in my heart that need healing.  Show me where they are and help me center them on You.  Give me an undivided heart–a new spiritual heart.  Move me closer to You and help me follow in Your ways.  Make me a woman with one focus, one vision, one purpose. Thank You, Lord, for the gift of a new heart. Amen.

¹Debbie Alsdorf The Faith Dare” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Revel, a division of Baker Publishing Group, 2010) p. 49

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in The Faith Dare and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

