The Purpose and Promise in the Testing of our Faith (November 8, 2013)

1 Peter 1:6-7 In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while, if need be, you have been grieved by various trials, that the genuineness of your faith, being much more precious than gold that perishes, though it is tested by fire, may be found to praise, honor, and glory at the revelation of Jesus Christ.

God tests our faith through trials.  He doesn’t do it for His benefit, but for us to see our faith and what it can do.  God has the power to change you as you go through a time of trial.  Your faith increases and you become stronger for the next trial.  Trials are an important part of our life.  They help mold us into the person God wants us to become.

When we go through a trial we must ask ourselves:  What do I believe about God? How strong is my belief that God is who He says He is?  God wants us to succeed. He doesn’t give us trials to watch us fail.  He gives us everything we need to get through it.  As odd as it sounds, we are to be grateful for our trials.  When we thank God for all things, even the difficult times of trial, our perspective changes.  We stop looking at ourselves and see the potential that God sees in us.

“God is producing in you everything in conformity to the purpose of His will. Period. Now to believe this–is faith!  You cannot see the outcome or the good being produced at first, but you must believe.  This belief in God’s development plan in your life is faith that is pleasing to God.”¹

[Read Nahum 1-3]

Nahum 2:7 The Lord is good, a strong refuge when trouble comes.  He is close to those who trust in him.

Father God,
Trials are hard. I don’t enjoy being tested, but I want to possess a strong faith. I understand that I can only know how strong my faith is by undergoing a test of it.  I am going through trials right now. As hard as it is, I want to be grateful for each of them.  Right now my gratitude emerges out of the fact that my trials could be much worse and I’m grateful they aren’t.  They are “easy” compared to the trials of others I know.  Thank You for loving me so much that You care about the person I am becoming and want to develop me for Your kingdom. Amen.

¹Debbie Alsdorf The Faith Dare” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Revel, a division of Baker Publishing Group, 2010) p. 34

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in The Faith Dare and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

