What is faith? Why is it important? (November 7, 2013)

Hebrews 11:1 Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.

Fact: Everyone has faith in someone or something.

Truth: In order to please God, we must focus our faith in Him.  God is faithful. He is trustworthy. We may not understand God’s ways or how and why He works the way He does especially when He allows disappointment, hurt and pain into our lives, but He alone knows what we need in order to glorify and bring honor to Him.  We can’t see the outcome, but we can have faith that God will work it out.

Faith is believing in someone bigger than ourselves (God) who can do things we cannot do.  In order to build our faith, we must read and study God’s Word in order to know God not to gain knowledge only but to know God’s character and His love.

“If you want more–the fullest life possible–you must learn to focus on what is true according to God’s Word: the claims of Christ, the promises of Christ, and the character of Christ.  This focus is not natural for us because we grow up learning to focus on ourselves.  But this upward focus can become our new normal and change us in ways we never thought possible.”¹

[Read Micah 1-7]

Micah 7:7 As for me, I look to the Lord for help. I wait confidently for God to save me, and my God will certainly hear me.

Father God,
Increase my faith. Help me focus my eyes upward toward You instead of on myself, other people or material possessions.  Thank You. Amen.

¹Debbie Alsdorf The Faith Dare” (Grand Rapids, Michigan, Revel, a division of Baker Publishing Group, 2010) p. 24.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in The Faith Dare and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

