God’s Perspective (November 6, 2013)

Jeremiah 33:3 Call to me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know.

Every time we pray, we are submitting to God and serving others.  If we look at prayer from God’s perspective, we see four things:

  1. A Second Chance for Greatness. (Psalm 71:19-21). If God can receive a king who committed adultery, deception and murder, He can do the same for us.  We need to stop looking at the past and move forward into the future with new resolve and purpose.
  2. The Importance of Our Prayers. (Galatians 6:9-10). We reap what we sow even in prayer.  We need to allow the Holy Spirit to lead us and show us who to pray for, how to pray and what to pray.
  3. We Understand the Last Days. (2 Timothy 3:1-5). The last days will be evil and perilous.  We are already seeing evil wreak havoc in the world.  We need to ask the Holy Spirit to reveal truth to us because even those who appear good will try to deceive us.
  4. The Right Things to Do. (Jeremiah 32:17). We need to ask God for His perspective when we pray and recognize the leading of the Holy Spirit.

“We must pray that we can understand God’s purpose for us in everything we do–including pray.  Pray that God will give you insight into the Word every time you read it.  Pray that the Holy Spirit will continually enlighten your understanding.  Ask God to help you understand His calling on your life and to give you a vision of what He wants to do.”¹

[Read Obadiah 1 and Jonah 1-4]

Jonah 2:1-2 Then Jonah prayed to the Lord his God from inside the fish. He said, “I cried out to the Lord in my great trouble, and he answered me.  I called you you from the land of the dead, and Lord, you heard me!”

Father God,
Keep my eyes focused on You at all times.  Keep  me sensitive to the leading of the Holy Spirit.  Thank You for being a God of second chances, and that You have given me a second chance.  I commit to praying for the people and situations that are important enough to You that You bring them to my attention.  Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Prayer Warrior” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers,2013) p. 188

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Prayer Warrior and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

