Follow God’s Orders to Resist the Enemy (November 5, 2013)

Psalm 18:28-30 You will light my lamp; the Lord my God will enlighten my darkness.  For by you I can run against a troop, by my God I can leap over a wall.  As for God, His way is perfect; the word of the Lord is power; he is a shield to all who trust in Him.

In order to resist the devil, we need to submit to God without questioning His authority.  Sin, worldliness and pride come between us and God.  Submitting to God’s authority will keep our relationship strong.

Six Ways to Resist the Enemy:

  1. Reject Pride–We are to humble ourselves before God.  By resisting pride, we resist the enemy.
  2. Refuse Fear–If we allow the enemy access to our mind, emotions and will, then we let fear into our lives.  The enemy wants us to be paralyzed by fear so that we don’t do what God has called us to do.
  3. Pray for Miracles–Our enemy does not want miracles to happen, so he will try to convince us they don’t.  If we pay attention, we can see evidence of God’s miracles every day.  Remember.  P.ray U.ntil S.omething H.appens.
  4. Don’t Give Up–Don’t entertain the enemy’s lies.  Don’t stop praying even when discouraged.  Focus on God not the enemy.
  5. Refuse to be Discontent–We need to give our concerns to God and let them go.  Trust Him to handle whatever is going on in our life.  Become dependent on God.
  6. Remember the Truth–This requires that we know God’s Word well.  We restrain the enemy with our prayers.  God is stronger than the enemy.  When we pray. we are resisting the enemy.

“Draw close to God every day and submit to Him.  Be ever ready to listen to Him speak to your heart, ready to obey Him in everything, and responsive to pray how He leads you.  That means your heart never becomes hard toward God; it is always tender.  And you have decided to follow His orders implicitly, just like a good soldier.”¹

[Read Amos 1-9]

Amos 3:3 Can two people walk together without agreeing on the direction?

Father God,
Show me how to submit myself to You in every way.  Reveal any pride in me so I can repent.  Show me what I need to be praying about and who I need to be praying for to resist the enemy. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Prayer Warrior” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers,2013) p. 170

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Prayer Warrior and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

