Identify the Battlefield (November 4, 2013)

2 Corinthians 10:3-5 Though we walk in the flesh, we do not  war according to the flesh.  For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal but mighty in God for pulling down strongholds, casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ.

Wherever we are praying is the battlefield.  Some examples include our finances, our relationships, our jobs, our health, our family.  One of the main battlegrounds is our mind.  The enemy, though he can’t control us, can still lie to us, remind us of our past and use our feelings against us.  If we aren’t aware of what God’s Word tells us–or we don’t believe it–we can’t discern what the enemy is doing and will fall into his trap.  It is important to put on the shield of faith daily to repel the lies of the enemy.

Our prayers have power.  Don’t ever believe otherwise.  The more you pray, the more power they will have, and the more answers to prayer you will see.” ¹

[Read Joel 1-3]

Joel 2:12 That is why the Lord says, “Turn to me now, while there is time. Give me your hearts. Come with fasting, weeping, and mourning.”

Father God,
Help me discern where my battlefield is.  Help me see the truth of what I am battling against. Enable me to understand what You are calling me to pray for and how to pray.  Keep me from ignoring any prompting from the Spirit to pray. Help me bring my thoughts and feelings under Your control and into obedience to Your ways.  Help me take every thought captive. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Prayer Warrior” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers,2013) p. 154

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Prayer Warrior and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

