Time is short. Engage in the War (November 3, 2013)

Revelation 12:12 Rejoice, O heavens, and you who dwell in them! Woe to the inhabitants of the earth and the sea! For the devil has come down to you, having great wrath, because he knows that he has a short time.

“With regard to being a prayer warrior, ‘engage’ means to pledge to God that you are choosing to oppose the plans of the enemy by praying for God’s will to be done on earth.”¹

God has called all of His people to be prayer warriors.  We must engage the enemy in prayer.  We need to pray proactively anticipating the actions of the enemy so we can prevent it if at all possible.  We don’t know what our prayers will accomplish, but that is no excuse not to pray. We are to pray even when our faith in an answer is small.  Prayer is about serving God.  We don’t have to be perfect or strong.  God calls us to pray.  The Holy Spirit will help you pray.  God hears our prayers and will answer them in His time and in His way.  We may never know the results of our prayers.  The time for prayer is getting shorter.  Evil is increasing.  Sin is rampant.  The hearts of people are growing cold and becoming hardened.

“Being fully engaged with the Lord changes your life in the best possible ways.  And it makes it easier to engage in the war against him (the enemy).  That is why prayer warriors wholeheartedly engage in the spiritual war and pray with a sense of purpose–because they are first engaged with the Lord by loving and worshiping only Him.  Their closeness to Him gives them heightened awareness of His heart on all matters and makes them sensitive to His will.  They are so grateful for all He has done that they do not hesitate to go to battle for Him.”²

[Read Hosea 8-14]

Hosea 14:8 “O Israel, stay away from idols! I am the one who answers your prayers and cares for you.  I am like a tree that is always green; all your fruit comes from me.”

Father God,
I commit to engaging with You in this war against the enemy.  I want to hear Your call to pray for people and situations as You lead me.  Thank You for the protective armor and the Holy Spirit.  Time is short, so help me feel the urgency when You call me to pray. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Prayer Warrior” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers,2013) p. 130

2Stormie Omartian, “Prayer Warrior” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers,2013) p. 138

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Prayer Warrior and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

