Be Certain of your Authority in Prayer (October 30, 2013)

John 14:12-14 “I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and ever greater works, because I am going to be with the Father.  You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father. Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it!”

When you accept Jesus as your Savior and invite Him into your heart, you have the authority in prayer to ask God for anything in Jesus’ name.  You must be certain of this authority without doubt so that satan can’t confuse you.  Our certainty comes from Christ living in us and the Holy Spirit working through us.  As a part of God’s family, we are called to be a prayer warrior.  It is our privilege and responsibility to intercede for others.

“The scheme of the enemy is to get you to doubt that authority and everything God says about you.  But remember that Jesus was raised from the dead, reigns in power over death and hell, and He pours Himself into us who believe in Him.  He is the source of our strength as we are armed for spiritual warfare.  He reveals our purpose to us and enables us to move into it.  He empowers us.  And He never runs out or runs dry because He is a deep well from which we can continuously draw living water.  God is able to do more than we can even think to ask Him for because of the power of His Spirit working in us.”¹

[Read Ezekiel 41-48]

Ezekiel 47:8-9 Then he  said to me, “This river flows east through the desert into the valley of the Dead Sea.  The waters of this stream will make the salty waters of the Dead Sea fresh and pure.  There will be swarms of living things wherever the water of this river flows.  Fish will abound in the Dead Sea, for its waters will become fresh.  Life will flourish wherever this never flows.

Father God,
I desire to be the most effective prayer warrior possible.  Teach me to understand the authority I have been given in prayer.  Enable me to use that authority to breakdown any strongholds of the enemy in my life and the lives of those You place on my heart.  Keep me from doubt because You supply everything I need. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Prayer Warrior” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers,2013) p. 71

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Prayer Warrior and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

