Recognize Your True Enemy (October 29, 2013)

Ephesians 6:12 We do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places.

Satan, or the devil, is a created being, a fallen angel, who stops at nothing in order to kill and destroy our faith our witness or anything we do for the Kingdom of God. He is:

The father of lies (John 8:44)
The thief (John 10:10)
The great dragon and serpent (Revelation 12:9)
The tempter (Matthew 4:3)
The enemy and avenger (Psalm 8:2)
The accuser (Revelation 12:10)
The evil one (Matthew 6:13)
The adversary (1 Peter 5:8)
The ruler of this world (John 14:30)
The prince of the power of the air (Ephesians 2:1-2)

It is important to know who the enemy is so we don’t blame God for what the enemy is doing.  The enemy is skilled at shifting blame.  We must concentrate on God’s goodness not the work of the enemy.  Satan may appear to be strong, but God is the only all-powerful being.

You must prepare for his (satan’s) attempts to devour your life by being vigilant as a prayer warrior.  We are instructed to take God’s kingdom by force because that is the only way to take it from an enemy who is opposing us every step of the way.  The enemy comes to tempt us away from God’s best for our lives.  But God protects us when we turn to Him.”¹

[Read Ezekiel 33-40]

Ezekiel 38:7 “Get ready; be prepared! Keep all the armies around you mobilized, and take command of them.”

Father God,
Thank You for giving me everything I need to fight satan.  You are my Commander, and I submit to You as Your servant.  Help me to serve You in prayer.  Enable me to oppose the plans of the enemy.  Help me always recognize the enemy and his ways.  When he tries to cause confusion in my life, I ask You to cause confusion in his camp when I pray.  Keep me from all deception.  Thank You for Your protection over me, my family and all of those I love.  Keep me from all sin.  I want to please You and never be an instrument of the devil. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Prayer Warrior” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers,2013) p. 52

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Prayer Warrior and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

