(Replace a Rebellious Attitude…) With an Attitude of Submission (October 26, 2013)

1 Peter 2:13 For the Lord’s sake, respect all human authority–whether the king as head of the state, or the officials he has appointed.  For the king has sent them to punish those who do wrong and honor those who do right.

1 Peter 2:13-25 presents five truths about submission that will guide us as we replace our rebellious attitude:

  1. Duty to God–By submitting to the authority placed over us, we are helping God with what He is trying to accomplish in the world.
  2. Protection by God–When we submit, we are covered by God’s protection.  When we don’t we are vulnerable and are not extended the promises of God.
  3. Has Limits Under God–Submission is not slavery to another person.
  4. Favor from God–God blesses those who submit with heartfelt, willing humility.
  5. Intimacy with God–Submission allows us to have a unique fellowship with God.

For most of us, the challenge, almost all the time, is to embrace suffering, to submit to it, knowing that there is a God who loves us and is watching.  God is so capable of pouring favor into our lives if we live in submission to Him.  This means submitting even when we don’t see His actions on our behalf, even when submitting means suffering and heartache.  God is opposed to the proud, but He gives grace to the humble.”¹

[Read Ezekiel 9-16]

Ezekiel 11:19-20  And I will give them singleness of heart and put a new spirit within them.  I will take away their stony, stubborn heart, so they will obey my decrees and regulations. Then they will truly be my people, and I will be their God.

Father God,
I desire Your favor, so I choose a lifestyle of submission.  I want my eyes to be on You, so I choose to walk by faith in obedience to Your Word. Amen.

¹James MacDonald, “Lord, Change My Attitude” (Chicago, Illinois, Moody Publishers, 2008) pp. 249-250

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Lord Change Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

