Replace a Rebellious Attitude… (October 25, 2013)

Numbers 16:11-14  The Lord is the one you and your followers are revolting against!  For who is Aaron that you are complaining about him?  Then Moses summoned Dathan and Abiram, the sons of Eliab, but they replied, “We refuse to come before you! Isn’t it enough that you brought us out of Egypt, a land flowing with milk and honey, to kill us here in this wilderness, and that you now treat us like your subjects? What’s more, you haven’t brought us into another land flowing with milk and honey.  You haven’t given us a new homeland with fields and vineyards. Are you trying to fool these men?  We will not come.”

Rebellion against those who God has put in charge is serious and leads to devastating consequences.  Every human heart has the potential to rebel.  It’s sources stem from jealousy, delusions, ungratefulness, stubbornness, disappointment and distrust.  Rebellion leads to serious consequences, including:

  1. Leadership withdrawal–As long as you are under authority, you are protected from hurtful things.  When leaders withdraw, you are at great risk.
  2. Innocent people are injured.  Your rebellion affects the people around you because God’s punishment will include them.
  3. The guilty will be condemned.  God doesn’t take rebellion lightly.
  4. The infection of rebellion will spread. ¹

“If He (God) is the One who puts the person in authority, rejecting the authority is rejecting God.”²

[Read Ezekiel 1-8]

Ezekiel 2:7-8 “You must give them my messages whether they listen or not.  But they won’t listen, for they are completely rebellious!  Son of Man, listen to what I say to you.  Do not join them in their rebellion.  Open your mouth, and eat what I give you.”

Father God,
Rebellion is easy, and submission is hard.  I know the hard way is the best way and Your way, so help me submit to authority for my own safety as well as those around me.  Forgive me when I rationalize why I don’t have to submit. Amen.

¹James MacDonald, “Lord, Change My Attitude” (Chicago, Illinois, Moody Publishers, 2008) pp. 227-230

²James MacDonald, “Lord, Change My Attitude” (Chicago, Illinois, Moody Publishers, 2008) p. 231

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Lord Change Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

