(Replace a Doubting Attitude…) With An Attitude of Faith (October 24, 2013)

Hebrews 11:1-3 Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see.  Through their faith, the people in days of old earned a good reputation.  By faith, we understand that the entire universe was formed at God’s command, that what we now see did not come from anything that can be seen.

Faith is believing the Word of God and knowing that everything God says is true and will happen exactly as He said.  It means that we will act on our faith in every aspect of our life no matter how we feel because God promises us a good result.

James MacDonald offers a three-step plan for building our faith:

  1. Study the Word to cultivate our faith.
  2. Have a witness and confess our faith.
  3. Walk daily in our faith by cornering our faith.¹

“Choose to live your life in such a way that God has to come through for you.  Make decisions that will cultivate and build your faith during tough times.”²

[Read Jeremiah 49-52, Lamentations 1-5]

Lamentations 3:22-24 The faithful love of of the Lord never ends! His mercies never cease.  Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each morning.  I say to myself, “The Lord is my inheritance; therefore, I will hope in him!”

Father God,
Thank You for the many examples of faith You give in Your Word.  Help me to exercise faith in all things.  Remind me that faith is the essence of my relationship with You and that by believing and acting upon my faith always brings good results. Amen.

¹James MacDonald, “Lord, Change My Attitude” (Chicago, Illinois, Moody Publishers, 2008) pp. 205-207

²James MacDonald, “Lord, Change My Attitude” (Chicago, Illinois, Moody Publishers, 2008) p. 208

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Lord Change Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

