Replace a Doubting Attitude… (October 23, 2013)

Numbers 14:10-11  But the whole community began to talk about stoning Joshua and Caleb.  Then the glorious presence of the Lord appeared to all the Israelites at the Tabernacle.  And the Lord said to Moses, “How long will these people treat me with contempt?  Will they never believe me, even after all the miraculous signs I have done among them?”

Doubt is not believing God will keep His promises. When you doubt, you are telling God that His Word isn’t enough.  It’s a big deal to God. When the Israelites refused to enter Canaan because of the bad report from all but two of the spies and went so far as to weep and protest and plan their escape back to Egypt, God made sure they would not only live their lives in the wilderness but would also die there.

Our circumstances will test our faith.  If we choose to doubt, we will never see the hand of God at work in our lives.  On the other hand, if we choose to have faith, God will reveal Himself to us in amazing ways. He may not work out our situation the way we would like, but He will demonstrate the goodness even though it may take some time to understand.  It is easy to doubt when you surround yourself with doubters.  It is important to spend time with people who will stand with you in faith so they can encourage and lift you up.  God works in the lives of those who have faith.

“You will be tested.  The purpose of the test isn’t just to reveal your faith; it’s also to refine your faith.  God doesn’t test your faith so He can know how much is there–He already knows.  He tests your faith so that you can know how much is there and see it grow.  Every good thing God wants to give to us comes through the funnel of faith.  He refines our faith because He loves us and wants to bless us more and more.”¹

[Read Jeremiah 43-48]

Jeremiah 46:28 “Do not be afraid, Jacob, my servant, for I am with you,” says the Lord. “I will completely destroy the nations to which I have exiled you, but I will not completely destroy you.  I will discipline you, but with justice; I cannot let you go unpunished.”

Father God,
Increase my faith! Give me victory in my struggle with doubt.  Thank You for Your faithfulness.  I want to rest in Your promises.  May this day be different as I walk with You in faith. Amen.

¹James MacDonald, “Lord, Change My Attitude” (Chicago, Illinois, Moody Publishers, 2008) p. 172

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Lord Change Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

