(Replace a Critical Attitude…) With an Attitude of Love (October 22, 2013)

1 Corinthians 13:1, 4-7 If I could speak all the languages of earth and of angels, but didn’t love others, I would only be a noisy gong or a clanging symbol.  Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude.  It does not demand its own way.  It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged.  It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out.  Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.

Loving others the way God intended is not a feeling but a choice–a decision to place the needs of others ahead of our own.  Sometimes it means confronting someone over a sin in their life.  Instead of being critical, we need to approach them with the truth of God’s Word and love which is patient, kind, not proud or rude and is not self-seeking.  We don’t approach in judgment of the other person, but in acceptance of the person though not the sin.  If you are tempted to be critical of someone else, look at them through the lens of God’s love and ask what Jesus would do in this situation.

“Love will never fail to accomplish God’s highest and best purposes…Love always takes things to a better place.  If you will pursue it with your whole heart and embrace the people in your life as they are–warts and all–even when they hurt you, God will use that.”¹

[Read Jeremiah 37-42]

Jeremiah 42:6 “Whether we like it or not, we will obey the Lord our God to whom we are sending you with our plea. For if we obey him, everything will turn out well for us.”

Father God,
Forgive me for my critical attitude.  Give me a heart to love others and bear with them and to speak the truth in love whatever the cost.  Give me a heart to accept others.  Thank You for Your love and for bearing with me.  Thank You for those You send into my life to confront me with truth in love. Amen.

¹James MacDonald, “Lord, Change My Attitude” (Chicago, Illinois, Moody Publishers, 2008) p. 163

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Lord Change Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

