(Replace a Covetous Attitude…) With an Attitude of Contentment (October 20, 2013)

1 Tiimothy 6:6-10 Yet true godliness with contentment is itself great wealth.  After all, we brought nothing with us when we came into the world, and we can’t take anything with us when we leave it.  So if we have enough food and clothing, let us be content. But people who long to be rich fall into temptation and are trapped by many foolish and harmful desires that plunge them into ruin and destruction.  For the love of money is the root of all kinds of evil.  And some people, craving money, have wandered from the true faith and pierced themselves with many sorrows.

Contentment is being satisfied with God’s provision.  Contentment’s partner is godliness.  Godliness with contentment is great gain (1 Timothy 6:6, KJV).  In order to bring contentment into our lives, we must look to eternity (we can’t take anything with us when we die), say enough is enough (realize that our survival depends only on food and shelter), and learn by the example of others (many wealthy people have acknowledged that their financial status made them miserable).  It is dangerous to spend our lives seeking after money and possessions.  God’s Word tells us to seek first the Kingdom of God. God wants to be our everything not an afterthought.

“Contentment brings blessings.  Blessings such as joy in the present, and health and satisfaction in the simple things of life.  Contentment brings a settled sense of sufficiency and a peaceful pace that proves ‘more’ is not the focus of your thinking.  You have life.  What a privilege to be alive in this world! Contentment brings joy in the present.”¹

[Read Jeremiah 25-30]

Jeremiah 29:11-13 “For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.  In those days when you pray, I will listen.  If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me.”

Father God,
Don’t let me be deceived by the theology of the world which tells me I need more money, a bigger house, more possessions to be happy with my life.  I want to be content with what You have given me.  You are enough.  Allow me to focus my attention on You rather than my wants and desires.  Thank You for the absolute truth found in Your Word. Amen.

¹James MacDonald, “Lord, Change My Attitude” (Chicago, Illinois, Moody Publishers, 2008) p. 115

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Lord Change Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

