Replace a Covetous Attitude…(October 19, 2013)

Numbers 11:4-5 Then the foreign rabble who were traveling with the Israelites began to crave the good things of Egypt.  And the people of Israel also began to complain. “Oh, for some meat!” they exclaimed.  “We remember the fish we used to eat for free in Egypt. And we had all the cucumbers, melons, leeks, onions, and garlic we wanted.”

When we are covetous, we want the wrong things, or the right thing for the wrong reasons or at the wrong time or in the wrong amounts.  When we dwell on our desires rather than God, we are saying to god that we do not believe He is sufficient enough for us.  When we ask God to give us something we consider more important than Him, we will soon be headed to the wilderness until we realize that only God can provide the joy and contentment we are searching for.

“When your life is a covetous life and you’re living for something else–more, better, or different; or perhaps a relationship, a possession–when desires for something are controlling you, you lose your capacity to discern sufficiency.  And enough is never enough.”¹

[Read Jeremiah 19-24]

Jeremiah 24:7 I will give them hearts that recognize me as the Lord.  They will be my people, and I will be their God, for they will return to me wholeheartedly.

Father God,
Forgive me for wanting to fill my life with things and relationships rather than You.  Nothing else can satisfy like You do.  Help me realize when my covetous attitudes are coming between us and I am in danger of moving to the wilderness.  Teach me to love You above all else.  May You become everything to me and help me put things in their rightful place. Amen.

¹James MacDonald, “Lord, Change My Attitude” (Chicago, Illinois, Moody Publishers, 2008) p. 93

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Lord Change Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

