(Replace a Complaining Attitude)…with a Thankful Attitude (October 18, 2013)

Luke 17:15-19 One of them, when he saw that he was healed, came back to Jesus, shouting, “Praise God!” He fell to the ground at Jesus’ feet, thanking him for what he had done.  This man was a Samaritan.  Jesus asked, “Didn’t I heal ten men?  Where are the other nine?  Has no one returned to give glory to God except this foreigner?”  And Jesus said to the man, “Stand up and go. Your faith has healed you.”

Gratitude, like complaining, is a choice.  You can either choose to complain and live in the wilderness or to be grateful and experience life-giving joy.  Thankfulness is not just mouthing words.  Your heart must get involved.  Ephesians 5:20 tells us to be thankful for all things.  This means that even when something bad or unpleasant happens to us we need to praise God.  Even during difficult times, we can find something to be thankful for.  In order for our gratitude to be genuine, we have to get past obligation and show deep appreciation.  Our gratitude to God demonstrates our faith that God is in control.  We show God that we have faith in His decisions over our lives.

“You (and I) need to get to the place by faith where we can say, ‘Thank You, God.  This is the thing that You’re using in my life.  You’ve allowed it because You love me, and I trust You.  Thank You, God, even for this!’ When we allow the Lord to bring us into that kind of thankfulness, we will experience a depth of joy we never thought possible.”¹

Every night before going to bed, write down five things you are thankful for.  When you are tempted to complain, refer to your list.  There is no need to live in the wilderness one minute longer than necessary.

[Read Jeremiah 13-18]

Jeremiah 17:7 “But blessed are those who trust in the Lord and have made the Lord their hope and confidence.”

Father God,
Thank You for giving me the gift of life.  Thank You for my loved ones who support and care for me.  Thank You for the Holy Spirit who leads and teaches me. Thank You for the precious gift of Your Son who died for my salvation.  Thank You for the freedom to worship You.  You are worthy of all my praise. Amen.

¹James MacDonald, “Lord, Change My Attitude” (Chicago, Illinois, Moody Publishers, 2008) p. 63

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Lord Change Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

