Replace a Complaining Attitude… (October 17, 2013)

Numbers 11:1 Soon the people began to complain about their hardship, and the Lord heard everything they said.  Then the Lord’s anger blazed against them, and he sent a fire to rage among them, and he destroyed some of the people in the outskirts of the camp.

Complaining is a choice.  James MacDonald defines it as “expressing dissatisfaction with a circumstance that is not wrong and about which I’m doing nothing to correct.”¹  Every time you utter a complaint, God hears.  He even hears your thoughts and knows when a complaint enters your mind.  God is angered by our complaining attitude and banishes us to the desert of joyless living.

Complaining is a sin.  When we complain about our circumstances, we are telling God that He isn’t enough; that He cannot satisfy us that we know better than He does–basically that we could be a better god.  Oh.my. Sometimes we complain about an adversity God has sent into our lives in order to help us grow.  That is especially something God does not want to hear us complaining about.

Take note:  Complaining is a direct path to the wilderness.  If we are complaining about something that is not wrong and about which we are doing nothing to correct, then our attitude is sinful and God will discipline us for it when we begin to complain, we need to stop, repent and pray.

“Even in this day of grace, God’s fire still consumes in judgment.  He judges a complaining attitude as surely as He judged the people of Israel in the desert.  But, for now, God’s fire doesn’t consume our existence; it scorches our happiness.  God’s fire consumes all that is fresh and healthy and life-giving in our lives. And life becomes a wilderness. Those who choose complaining as their lifestyle will spend their lifetimes in the wilderness.”²

[Read Jeremiah 7-12]

Jeremiah 10:6-7 Lord, there is no one like you! For you are great, and your name is full of power.  Who would not fear you, O King of nations? That title belongs to you alone! Among all the wise people of the earth and in all the kingdoms of the world, there is no one like you.

Father God,
Thank You for Your Word which shows me how You feel about complaining and how to handle my attitude.  Make me aware of everything I say and think.  Forgive me for my complaining attitude.  Give me the grace and faith to embrace the adversity in my life.  Teach me not to complain and how to put on the life-giving, joy-producing attitude that replaces it. Amen.

¹James MacDonald, “Lord, Change My Attitude” (Chicago, Illinois, Moody Publishers, 2008) p. 38

²James MacDonald, “Lord, Change My Attitude” (Chicago, Illinois, Moody Publishers, 2008) p. 47

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Lord Change Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

