Led to Lead Others to Know Truth (October 13, 2013)

John 16:8 When he has come, he will convict the world of sin, and of righteousness, and of judgment.

We are called to live godly lives as an example to those who don’t know the truth.  We can’t witness to others if we are living lives outside of God’s commands.  We are also not called to be judgmental of how others live, but we are to share with them how to live and how sin affects our lives.  It is the responsibility of the Holy Spirit to open their hearts, equip us to witness and convict people of sin.  If we are open to His leading, the Holy Spirit will give us the words to say.

“People must hear the truth so they can decide whether to accept or reject it.  If we believers don’t come out of our comfort zone to reach others, who will?  That’s why God gives us the Holy Spirit, to be made whole and holy and prepared to lead others to the truth, so they can have eternal life and fulfill their purpose in Christ.”¹

[Read Isaiah 27-40]

Isaiah 31:6-7 Though you are such wicked rebels, my people, come and return to the Lord.  I know the glorious day will come when each of you will throw away the gold idols and silver images your sinful hands have made.

Father God,
I don’t want to ever be the one to stand in the way of someone coming to You because of how I live my life or because I don’t answer Your call to witness to them.  I pray You will use me powerfully to be a witness to the truth of Your Word and who You are.  Help me not only to understand Your Word but also to be able to demonstrate its power in my life. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 236

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

