Led to Follow God to the Right Place at the Right Time (October 11, 2013)

Isaiah 30:21 Your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying, “This is the way, walk in it,” whenever you turn to the right hand or whenever you turn to the left.

One of the most difficult commands God gives us is to submit our wills (flesh) to the bending or leading of His will.  If we seek after God, we find Him, but what is the point of seeking God and His will if we aren’t prepared to submit and obey?  Many times we get into trouble when first, we don’t seek guidance from the Holy Spirit, and second, we follow our own path, forgetting that our choices have consequences.  In order to be in the right place at the right time, we must:

  1. Submit to God and be open to the Holy Spirit
  2. Follow the leading of the Holy Spirit
  3. Read God’s Word for direction
  4. Worship God and pray for guidance

“Whenever you are not where God wants you to be, you are in danger.  That’s why you must ask the Holy Spirit each day to lead you to the right place at the right time.  Even when you have a sense of God’s leading, keep praying and testing it against God Word.  Be convinced that the only things we accomplish that are good and lasting are those that are done with the leading of the Holy Spirit.”¹

[Read Isaiah 1-13]

Isaiah 1:19-20 If you will obey me, you will have plenty to eat.  But if you turn away and refuse to listen, you will be devoured by the sword of your enemies.  I, the Lord, have spoken.

Father God,
Help me to hear the Holy Spirit guiding me today.  Lead me into everything you have for me.  I pray that I will accomplish Your will.  Enable me to follow Your direction and not my own.  Help me to do what’s right in all things.  Open my eyes to the truth when I want to go my own way.  Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 226

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

