Led to Follow God to Resist the Enemy’s Attacks (October 9, 2013)

James 4:7 So humble yourselves before God.  Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.

The devil will use any means necessary to steal us away from God, and if he can’t get us away from God, he will try to destroy our witness so that we can’t bring others to God.  He is a crafty enemy.  The Holy Spirit can help us discern when we are being led astray and will give us the power to resist.  We must train ourselves to listen and obey the nudges we receive from the Spirit warning us.  When you first hear the lies of the enemy, begin immediately praising and worshiping God.  This will make our enemy leave every time because he hates the sound of our true praise and worship.

“When the enemy encroaches upon your life–in your marriage; your children; your work; your ministry; your mind, body and soul–humble yourself before God and declare your dependence upon Him.  Have complete faith in His Word and pray for His intervention.  Fast and pray to God’s glory and for the leading of His Spirit.  Worship Him in the beauty of His holiness.  This is a powerful combination that firmly establishes you in the Lord, and no forces of hell can prevail against you when you resist the enemy’s attack in this way.  Even when there appears to be no way out of the threat, God will do something to bring about victory you never dreamed possible.”¹

[Song of Solomon 1-8]

Song of Solomon 8:4 Promise me, O women of Jerusalem, not to awaken love until the time is right.

Father God,
Help me to stand against the enemy and all he wants to do in my life.  Thank You for delivering me from the evil one.  Thank You for delivering me from the enemy.  You are greater than his most powerful weapon.  Whenever Satan tries to erect a stronghold in my life, I pray that You will strike it down.  Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 223

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

