Led to Follow God to Care For Your Body (October 9, 2013)

Romans 12:1 I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing for God–this is your true and proper worship.

In order to serve God effectively, our bodies must be able to do all that God asks.  If we don’t get enough exercise and eat properly, our bodies suffer by carrying around excess weight or decreased energy.  We also suffer when we fail to obey God’s commands regarding Sabbath rest.  God created the seven-day week and gave us six days for work and one day for rest–a day we are to set aside for praising and worshiping God and rest.  We are not to save praise and worship for one day only, but we are given a day where we should celebrate God’s goodness over the past week and glorify Him for the blessings of the coming week.

“Ask the Holy Spirit to help you break destructive habits and pick up beneficial ones.  I know how hard it is to break bad habits, but the Holy Spirit will help you every hour of every day.  Tell God what you are struggling with in regard to caring for your body, and ask Him to lead you away from temptation and give you the strength to do the right thing.”¹

[Read Ecclesiastes 7-12]

Ecclesiastes 11:9-10 Young people, it’s wonderful to be young! Enjoy every minute of it.  Do everything you want to do; take it all in. But remember that you must give an account to God for everything you do.  So refuse to worry, and keep your body healthy.  But remember that youth, with a whole life before you, is meaningless.

Father God,
Enable me to control my appetite for things that are destructive to my body.  Help me value my body enough to take care of it.  Allow my mind and body to rest on Your Sabbath day.  Reveal to me those things I need to do and those things I need to avoid to keep my body healthy and active.  Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 219

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Hearing God's Voice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

