Led to Follow God to the Company of Godly People (October 8, 2013)

1 Corinthians 15:33 Don’t be fooled by those who say such things, for “bad company corrupts good character”.

Your most intimate friendships should be with godly people.  We need to spend time with unbelievers to be a witness to them, but our counsel must always come from those who believe in and have faith in God.  Whether intentional or unintentional, unbelievers can lead us astray if we aren’t careful.  The Holy Spirit can lead us to those godly people we need in our life.  We can’t live out our faith alone.  We need to be a part of a body of believers who hold us accountable, offer us a place to serve, and help us grow in our relationship with God.

“Without godly people in your life who are sold out to the Lord, you will end up doing what you want.  You will become guided by your own desires, opinions, and thoughts rather than by the Holy Spirit’s leading.”¹

[Read Ecclesiastes 1-6]

Ecclesiastes 4:9-10 Two people are better off than one, for they can help each other succeed.  If one person falls, the other can reach out and help.  But someone who falls alone is in real trouble.

Father God,
Lead me into the company of godly people and away from those who are not.  Keep me from being influenced or corrupted by ungodly people I allow to speak into my life.  I can’t fulfill my destiny apart from the people You put into my life who walk closely with You.  Give me discernment about my relationships. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 217

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

