Led to Follow God to Purify the Words You Speak (October 6, 2013)

Matthew 12:24 Out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks.

The Holy Spirit helps us guard our mouth.  God does not dwell in an unpurified heart.  We must give the Holy Spirit the authority to clean house on our souls–to remove all sin including impure thoughts which lead to unholy words.  Purity of speech is the manifestation of a pure heart.  If we are still speaking words that defile, demean and that are unkind and careless, then our heart is not pure.  If our words do not bring healing or they don’t edify, then our heart is not pure.  Our words must be true, free of gossip, kind and forgiving in order to satisfy God’s demands.

“Our words will always reveal the condition of our heart.  When we speak words that are unkind, deceptive, or faithless, it indicates we have heart problems.”¹

[Read Job 25-33]

Job 29:23 They longed for me to speak as people long for rain.  They drank my words like a refreshing spring rain.

Father God,
Fill my heart with Your love, peace and joy so that what comes out of my mouth honors You and represents Your will.  I pray that I will always speak words that bring life and not destruction.  Help me do all things without complaining.  Pour Your Spirit into my heart each day so that what I speak honors and glorifies You. Amen.

¹Stormie Omartian, “Lead Me, Holy Spirit” (Eugene, Oregon, Harvest House Publishers, 2012) p. 210

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Holy Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

